San Diego Music History :  Che Underground: The Forum The fastest message board... ever.
Discuss the twists and turns of San Diego's rock-'n'-roll underground, yesterday and today 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Wanted: 'Zine historians
Posted by: Mmrothenberg (IP Logged)
Date: July 23, 2008 03:42PM

Dean Curtis has been sharing all these great old SD music magazines: Be My Friend, Bamboo Head, Snare, Ugly Things ...

I would like to feature at least one -- and probably a series -- of blog posts on the goodness of SD's 'zine scene of the late '70s/early '80s.

I'm looking for authors ... Don't be shy: I'm a good editor and will be honored to clean up as necessary. But I need some expertise here.

Danke schoen!

Re: Wanted: 'Zine historians
Posted by: Paul Kaufman (IP Logged)
Date: July 23, 2008 04:37PM

Bamboo Head was done by Clayton Colgin, of Men of Clay fame. I loved his intricate Xerox art, and he wrote beautifully. He would be a great addition to this community!

Posted by: Toby (IP Logged)
Date: July 23, 2008 04:57PM

I already sent Clay a link.

Posted by: clay (IP Logged)
Date: July 02, 2009 08:49PM

toby...last year was a bad time to get my attention towards anything but my very survival....that and occasionally getting lost in some of my own music-making.

i nearly lost my house which i was trying to sell the previous fall and i had to change my line of work after doing tile and stone for 25 years once the economy took a nose-dive....
i'd absorbed a number of nutty room-mates (the craigslist-guarantee)
and was scrambling just to not let my abode become a haven of lunacy.

things have settled down now (sort of) and i hope to contribute some stuff ...besides my opinions, soon.

Date: July 02, 2009 10:05PM

Clay: You're right on time, seriously.